Names of animals in Plains Cree

I found an amazing site for starting to learn Swampy Cree, Woodlands Cree, Plains Cree and Dene this site has vocabulary exercises that are simple to use and I’m finding very useful because I need to hear the words before I can learn the words.

resource

I just clicked on Plains Cree and it has lists of what words you would like to learn anything from in class objects to kinship terms.

resouce

This is an example of the kinship terms, you click on cousin, auntie, grandma etc. and there is a recording of how to say it and an animation included which would be nice for children as well.  I LOVE THIS SITE.  It was created by the Lac La Ronge Indian Band curriculum resource unit.  Here’s a video explaining how useful this website is.

There is also a link on how to teach Cree or Dene, lays out the curriculum for all grades.

This week I have been focusing on animal names and using this site to help me. So far so good!

fish

One thought on “Names of animals in Plains Cree”

  1. Thanks for sharing this great resource for learning and connecting to the Saskatchewan curriculum. I think that this is great that this online resource provides lesson plans that include visual and aural aids as well to aid all learners. Introducing this in a classroom not only will allow students to learn more about their heritage and history but also too allow all students to learn about another language and culture that is so prevalent in Canada and Saskatchewan. Thanks again. Aidan.

Leave a comment